Thanksgiving rest….

Thanksgiving, that one time of year where it’s politically correct to express what we are thankful for…

As I reflect back over the previous year I realize I have much to be thankful for in my life.
A wonderful wife that puts up with my frequent pessimism and impulse buying decisions when it comes to electronic toys.
Three bueatiful children who are at a much healthier place emotionally and spiritually than I was at their age.

I am also thankful for ‘recovery‘. Okay…so what do I mean by that?

I watched a video the other day where someone was talking about the baggage that we all carry around to one degree or another. He quoted Matthew 11:28, “Come to me all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.”, and I got to thinking, “you know the result of recovery, (the process of retrieving something which was lost or stolen), is essentially……rest.”

I am utterly thankful that I can rest in the fact that God seperates my performance from my person. I am thankful that I can ‘rest’ in my true identity in Christ.

My plan for the rest of the day is, rest, food, friends, and football….and then ride the shopping wave in the Black Friday sea of madness…all for a $20 coffee-pot. 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

